AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter

The American Institute of Architects was created in 1857 by a group of architects in Washington, D.C. The goal of the first members was to have a place where members could meet for lectures, conventions and meetings. The original 13 have grown to over 200 chapters around the world representing over 95,000 licensed architects and associated professionals. AIA members adhere to a Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct that assures clients, the public and colleagues of their dedication to high standards in professional practice. Florida’s state association was formed in Jacksonville in 1912.

The AIA Florida Gulf Coast chapter is a non-profit membership corporation incorporated in the State of Florida on May 26th, 1964 and chartered by the Institute on January 18th, 1964, and represents over 200 members in Manatee, Sarasota, Highlands, Hardee, & Desoto counties.

Mission Statement

AIA Florida Gulf Coast is the voice of our community’s architectural profession and a resource for its members in service to society; shaping our future.

Vision Statement

AIA Florida Gulf Coast: Providing stewardship and leading positive change in our community through the power of design.

AIA Florida Gulf Coast believes in…

Impact-making a societal difference through excellence in design

Leadership-building trust through collaboration and participation

Integrity - doing the right thing for the right reason

Ethics–maintaining the highest standard of professionalism

Service–creating a legacy of selflessness in the community

Innovation-cultivating a culture of forward thinking

Stewardship-nurturing that which has been entrusted to us


In January 2016, the AIA Florida Gulf Coast board held a strategic planning session and agreed on the following goals for the chapter:

  • Engage membership and build leadership pipeline through networking and other programming.
  • Advocate on behalf of the profession to local and state government.
  • Promote architecture and design to the community.
  • Establish chapter procedures and policies.

The objects of this Chapter shall be to promote and forward the objects of The American

Institute of Architects within the assigned territory of this Chapter. The Institute objects are:

  • to organize and unite in fellowship the members of the architectural profession;
  • to promote the aesthetic, scientific and practical efficiency of the profession;
  • to advance the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training and practice;
  • to coordinate the building industry and the profession of architecture to insure the advancement of the living standards of people through their improved environment;
  • and to make the profession of ever-increasing service to society.

2023 Board of Directors

President - Damien Blumetti, AIA

Vice President/President-elect - Anita Keitel, AIA

Treasurer - Laney Brown, AIA

Secretary - Vacant

Chapter Director - Fab Bozzolo-Fabia, AIA

Chapter Director - William Craig, AIA

Associate Director - Vacant

State Director - Julian Norman-Webb, AIA

Immediate Past-President - James Piatchuk, AIA

2023 Florida Foundation for Architecture Representative

Arthur Sheffield, Assoc. AIA

AIA Florida Gulf Coast Past Presidents

2021-2022 - James Piatchuk, AIA

2020 - Fred Koenig, AIA
2019 - John Pichette, AIA
2018 - Julian Norman-Webb, AIA
2017 - Javi Saurez, Jr. AIA
2016 - Lisa Hess, AIA
2015 - Lisa Hess, AIA
2014 - John Bryant, AIA
2013 - Jedd Heap, AIA
2012 - Tina Hue Long-Forslund, AIA
2011 - Mark Edward Sultana, AIA
2010 - Gary Todd Yeomans, AIA
2009 - Brian M. Bradley, AIA
2008 - Joel May, AIA
2007 - Joseph Farris, AIA
2006 - Jerry Sparkman, AIA
2005 - James W. Bowen, AIA
2004 - Gary Todd Yeomans, AIA
2003 - Brad Gaubatz, AIA
2002 - Todd Sweet, AIA
2000-2001 - Dale S. Parks, AIA
1999-2000 - Samuel C. Holladay, AIA
1998 - Fredrick V. Rossa, AIA
1997 - Charles Kuykendall, AIA

1996 - Michael Edwards

1995 - William Halstead

1994 - Mark Smith, AIA

1993 - Javier Suarez

1992 - Stan Tignor

1991 - Linda Stevenson

1990 - Richard Allen

1989 -

1988 -

1987 - Richard Garfinkel

1986 -

1985 - James Padgett

1984 - Tom Walter

1983 - Jack West

1982 - Bruce Balk

1981 -

1980 - George Palermo

1979 -

1978 - Jack West

1977 - Mark H. Raemaker

1976 - Mark H. Raemaker

1975 - Robert A. Morris

1974 - Robert A. Morris

1973 - Frank F. Smith

1972 - James B. Holliday

1971 -

1970 - James Padgett

1969 - Edward J. Siebert

1968 - Jack West, Tollyn Twitchell

1967 - Rolland W. Sellew

1966 - Tollyn J. Twitchell

1965 - Earl J. Draeger, Sidney R. Wilkinson

1964 - Florida Gulf Coast Chapter was created.

AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter

PO Box 160
Sarasota, Florida 34230
(941) 315-8242 |

AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter | P.O. Box 160 | Sarasota | FL | 34230 | | 941.315.8242

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software